In search of creative approaches to the design of Mobility, Urban Systems Engineering and Innovation Systems

Areas of research: Mobility, Urban Systems Engineering and Innovation Systems

Areas of research

Urban Systems Engineering

In the scope of industrial consulting projects as well as research projects funded at national and international levels, the teams of Urban Systems Engineering scientists conduct research on creative and inspiring approaches and business models for sustainable, livable and adaptable cities, logistics and safety of tomorrow.

Envisioning the life and urban settings of tomorrow, developing future-oriented urban infrastructures, creating space and shaping society in a sustainable manner

 

Urban systems in interaction with people, technology and the space they occupy
 

Some current projects entail the creation of innovative participation methods and co-creative processes to involve people in development projects that will jointly shape the livable cities of tomorrow. Our scientists tap into the opportunities provided by digitalization, IT and communication technologies in built-up areas. We also create organizational and information technology concepts for our customers, in compliance with the latest data protection regulations, to further develop urban processes in the best possible way. In addition, our interdisciplinary teams carry out in-depth research on the societal consequences of urban developments and put current scientific knowledge to use.

 

Our Urban Systems Engineering researchers focus on:

•    System solutions for customer-friendly logistics and services that are geared to demand

•    Identification and assessment of service potential in the sphere of urban logistics

•    Integrated management of urban parking facilities and setup of microhubs in city centers

•    Scientific assistance on experiments and reality labs in urban spaces

•    Development of intelligent district concepts

•    »Morgenstadt – city of the future« as a new paradigm of urban development

•    Internationalization of potential solutions for sustainable construction and urban planning

•    Use of creative formats for the transdisciplinary networking of stakeholders

•    Shaping of innovation processes at the interface between municipal authorities, private enterprise and the general public

•    Optimization of crisis and disaster management in cooperation with various stakeholders

 

Teams

●    Urban Delivery Systems
This team conducts analyses of markets, technologies and locations; it designs system solutions for customer-friendly logistics and services that are geared to demand, supports project implementations, and helps companies develop new business models. Our vision of the future aims to establish urban-friendly logistics that provide maximum sustainability and efficiency in urban spaces.

●    Smart Urban Environments
The Smart Urban Environments team develops viable solutions for urban, residential and living spaces of the future. Team members accomplish this by considering flexible technologies and the diverse factors impacting people, available space and organization. Our vision of the future consists of livable and pioneering urban districts, creating a link between solutions that are both sustainable and digital.

●    Urban Governance Innovation
This team helps cities methodically shape innovation processes at the interface between municipal authorities, private enterprise and the general public. Team members also support local communities in developing and implementing integrated strategies. Our vision of the future consists of bringing together sustainable urban development, data-based solutions, and the market for clean and connected technologies.

●    Urban Data and Resilience
The Urban Data and Resilience team strives to make cities livable, safe and resilient. To this end, we focus on IT-based collaboration with the general public and the third sector; we also utilize existing urban data for resilient strategic and administrative processes. Our vision of the future aims at administrative and decision-making processes that are IT-based and resilient for the cities, towns and regions of tomorrow.

Mobility and Innovation Systems

In the scope of many different research projects, our scientists on Mobility and Innovation Systems teams establish solutions and methods for generating, designing, introducing and assessing new product, process and service innovations as part of the transition to future mobility.

Understanding markets and customer requirements, identifying and using technologies purposefully, envisioning organizational and value-creation models

 

Looking at the big picture and actively shaping tomorrow’s transformation processes and innovation systems
 

Some current projects include putting together comprehensive mobility and energy concepts, adding electric vehicles to fleets, identifying and assessing the service potential of automated driving, and analyzing (mobility) data to craft new business models. In joint cross-sector projects, our Fraunhofer IAO researchers identify and harness technological potential that can help market players gain or even sharpen their competitive edge.

To ensure that we translate theory into practice, we test our approaches on our own fleet of electric vehicles, in our smart microgrid living lab or in our in-house mobility innovation lab, which is a prototyping facility as well as a creativity space for ideation and expert workshops.

 

Our Mobility and Innovation Systems researchers focus on:

•    Mobility trends and innovative technologies

•    Autonomous driving and use of time

•    Innovative technologies for the vehicles and microcars of tomorrow

•    Electromobility and local energy systems

•    Charging-infrastructure concepts, business and operator models

•    Digitalization and transformation of the mobility sector

•    Value creation and employment

•    Participation and innovation formats

 

Teams

●    Mobility Innovation

The Mobility Innovation team studies digital transformation in the automotive industry. By leveraging years of experience in this sector as well as modern methods of technology and innovation management, this team will contribute to the design of tomorrow’s sustainable vehicles for years to come. This team regularly relies on the mobility innovation lab, which serves as a creative space for ideation and expert workshops as well as a prototyping facility enabling work on innovative formats.

●    Mobility Ecosystems

The Mobility Ecosystems team not only assists companies and municipalities in actively shaping their transition to future mobility, but also in harnessing the innovative power behind a digitalized mobility ecosystem. Our work on projects begins in labs that we ourselves designed and set up. To name just one example: our smart microgrid demonstrator, which includes a charging infrastructure and a fleet of electric vehicles.

●    Technology and Innovation Intelligence

This interdisciplinary team looks at smart-data approaches to develop solutions that empower companies and organizations to strategically identify, evaluate and implement new technologies or fields of application. In addition, team members help organizations design and implement effective, long-term management of technologies and innovations.

 

Continue to our Teams

Auf der Suche nach kreativen Ansätzen zur Ausgestaltung von Mobilitäts-, Stadt- und ganzheitlichen Innovationssystemen

Forschungsbereiche: Stadtsystem-Gestaltung & Mobilitäts- und Innovationssysteme

Forschungsbereiche

Stadtsystem-Gestaltung

In industriellen Beratungsprojekten sowie national und international geförderten Forschungsprojekten forschen die Wissenschaftlerteams des Forschungsbereichs »Stadtsystem-Gestaltung« an kreativen und inspirierenden Ansätzen und Geschäftsmodellen für nachhaltige, lebenswerte und wandlungsfähige Städte, Logistik und Sicherheit von morgen.

Lebens- und Stadtwelten von morgen vorausdenken, urbane Infrastrukturen zukunftsfähig entwickeln, Raum und Gesellschaft nachhaltig gestalten

 

Urbane Systeme im Zusammenspiel von Mensch, Technik und Raum

 

Aktuelle Projekte umfassen beispielsweise die Erarbeitung von innovativen Beteiligungsverfahren und co-kreativen Prozessen, um Bürgerinnen und Bürger in Entwicklungsvorhaben einzubeziehen, um gemeinsam die lebenswerte Stadt von morgen zu gestalten. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler setzen auf die Möglichkeiten, die Digitalisierung sowie Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien im gebauten Raum bieten. Für Kunden werden unter Berücksichtigung aktueller Datenschutzbestimmungen organisatorische und informationstechnische Konzepte erarbeitet, um städtische Prozesse bestmöglich weiterzuentwickeln. Zudem forschen die interdisziplinären Forschungsteams intensiv zu den gesellschaftlichen Folgen von städtischen Entwicklungen und bringen den aktuellen Stand der Wissenschaft in die Anwendung.
 

Die Fokusthemen des Forschungsbereichs »Stadtsystem-Gestaltung« sind:

•    Systemlösungen für bedarfsgerechte und kundenfreundliche Logistik- und Servicedienstleistungen

•    Identifikation und Bewertung von Servicepotenzialen im Kontext urbaner Logistik

•    Integrierte städtische Parkraumbewirtschaftung und Gestaltung innerstädtischer Mikro-Hubs

•    Wissenschaftliche Begleitung von Experimenten und Reallaboren im urbanen Raum

•    Entwicklung intelligenter Quartierskonzepte

•    »Morgenstadt« als neues Paradigma der Stadtentwicklung

•    Internationalisierung von Lösungsansätzen im Bereich nachhaltiges Bauen und Stadtentwicklung

•    Anwendung kreativer Formate für die transdisziplinäre Vernetzung von Akteuren

•    Gestaltung von Innovationsprozessen an der Schnittstelle von Stadtverwaltung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft

•    Optimierung des Krisen- und Katastrophenmanagements in Kooperation mit unterschiedlichen Akteuren

 

Teams

●    Urban Delivery Systems
Team führt Markt-, Technologie- und Standortanalysen durch, entwirft Systemlösungen für bedarfsgerechte und kundenfreundliche Logistik- und Servicedienstleistungen, begleitet entsprechende Umsetzungsprojekte und unterstützt bei der Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle. Unsere Vision ist eine stadtverträgliche Logistik mit maximaler Nachhaltigkeit und Effizienz im urbanen Raum.

●    Smart Urban Environments
Team entwickelt tragfähige Lösungen für den urbanen Wohn- und Lebensraum der Zukunft. Dies gelingt durch Berücksichtigung flexibler Technologien und den Einbezug unterschiedlichster Einflussfaktoren aus den Bereichen Mensch, Raum und Organisation. Unsere Vision sind lebenswerte und zukunftsweisende Stadtquartiere, die nachhaltige und digitale Lösungen verbinden.

●    Urban Governance Innovation
Team unterstützt Städte methodisch dabei, Innovationsprozesse an der Schnittstelle von Stadtverwaltung, Privatwirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft zu gestalten und begleitet Kommunen bei der Entwicklung ganzheitlicher Strategien bis in die Umsetzung. Unsere Vision ist es, nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung, datenbasierte Lösungen und den Markt für saubere und vernetzte Technologien zusammenzuführen.

●    Urban Data and Resilience
Team hat das Ziel, Städte lebenswert, sicher und widerstandsfähig zu gestalten. Dafür setzen wir auf IT-basierte Zusammenarbeit mit dem öffentlichen und dritten Sektor und die Nutzung vorhandener städtischer Daten für belastbare Strategie- und Verwaltungsprozesse. Unsere Vision sind IT-basierte und resiliente Verwaltungs- und Entscheidungsprozesse für Städte, Gemeinden und Regionen von morgen.

Mobilitäts- und Innovationssysteme

Im Rahmen vielfältiger Forschungsprojekte erarbeiten die Wissenschaftlerteams des Forschungsbereichs »Mobilitäts- und Innovationssysteme« Lösungen und Methoden zur Generierung, Gestaltung, Einführung und Bewertung neuer Produkt-, Prozess- und Service-Innovationen im Zuge des Mobilitätswandels.

Märkte und Kunden verstehen, Technologien identifizieren und zielgerichtet einsetzen, Organisations- und Wertschöpfungsmodelle vordenken

 

Transformationsprozesse und Innovationssysteme von morgen ganzheitlich betrachten und aktiv mitgestalten

 

Aktuelle Projekte umfassen beispielsweise die Erarbeitung von ganzheitlichen Mobilitäts- und Energiekonzepten, die Einführung von Elektrofahrzeugen in Fuhrparks, die Identifikation und Bewertung von Servicepotenzialen im Bereich des automatisierten Fahrens oder die Analyse von (Mobilitäts-)Daten zur Ableitung neuer Geschäftsmodelle. In branchenübergreifenden Verbundprojekten identifizieren die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler technologische sowie wettbewerbsrelevante Potenziale für die Marktakteure und machen diese für sie nutzbar.

Um den Transfer in die Praxis sicherstellen zu können, erproben wir unsere Ansätze an der eigenen elektromobilen Fuhrparkflotte, unserem »Living Lab« Micro Smart Grid, oder im hauseigenen Mobility Innovation Lab – einer Kreativwerkstatt für Ideation- und Expertenworkshops, aber auch eine Prototypengarage.

 

Die Fokusthemen des Forschungsbereichs »Mobilitäts- und Innovationssysteme« sind:

•    Mobilitätstrends und innovative Technologien

•    Autonomes Fahren und Zeitnutzung

•    Innovative Technologien für Fahrzeuge und Mikromobile der Zukunft

•    Elektromobilität und lokale Energiesysteme

•    Ladeinfrastrukturkonzepte, Geschäfts- und Betreibermodelle

•    Digitalisierung und Transformation der Mobilitätswirtschaft

•    Wertschöpfung und Beschäftigung

•    Partizipation und Innovationsformate

 

Teams

●    Mobility Innovation
Das Team »Mobility Innovation« untersucht die digitale Transformation der Automobilindustrie und leistet durch langjährige Branchenerfahrung sowie mit modernen Methoden des Technologie- und Innovationsmanagements einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zur Gestaltung der Fahrzeuge der Zukunft. Ankerpunkt ist das Mobility Innovation Lab – eine Kreativwerkstatt für Ideation- und Expertenworkshops, aber auch eine Prototypen-Garage zur Ermöglichung innovativer Innovationsformate.

●    Mobility Ecosystems
Das Team »Mobility Ecosystems« unterstützt Unternehmen und Kommunen dabei, den Mobilitätswandel aktiv zu gestalten und die Innovationskraft eines digitalisierten Mobilitäts-Ökosystems für sich nutzbar zu machen. Als Ausgangspunkt für unsere Projektarbeiten dienen eigens konzipierte und aufgebaute Labs wie zum Beispiel ein Micro Smart Grid-Demonstrator inklusive Ladeinfrastruktur sowie eine elektrifizierte Fahrzeugflotte.

●    Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement
Das interdisziplinäre Team entwickelt auf Basis von Smart-Data-Ansätzen Lösungen, wie Unternehmen und Organisationen neue Technologien oder Applikationsfelder strategisch identifizieren, bewerten und verankern können. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Team Organisationen in der Konzeption und der Implementierung eines wirkungsvollen und nachhaltigen Technologie- und Innovationsmanagements.

 

Weiter zu unseren Teams